Lunch time!

The dog is waiting for him to drop something!
The dog is waiting for him to drop something!
He does a great job with chopping veggies. I think I'm going to make him make my next salad. :)
He does a great job with chopping veggies. I think I’m going to make him make my next salad. 🙂

This semester, school has given me a particularly heavy work load and I haven’t been managing my time well. I have also started taking my local language class here in Sunndal to fulfill my language course requirements that come with my permanent residence status. We bought a house and are moving into it soon, so all of these things combined have made it difficult for me to find time to write anything, but there are so many things to talk about! Well, after the New Year I won’t be as busy. Only my language class, and then one more university class and I will graduate in May…..finally!

One quick little thing that I want to share is that Anders is now making his own lunch a few days a week. I think it’s great! I know a lot of kids here make their own lunches, but I didn’t know any kids back home who did. They do food projects every couple of weeks here at school. He has to bring an apron (his bestemor made him an apron and embroidered his name on it in heavy metal letters designed by his tante Gunnhild), and they make a meal. The last thing they made was tacos. They split up into 3 groups of about 4 kids. They chopped onions, cucumbers, tomatoes, avocados, and I don’t remember what else. They seasoned and browned the taco meat, shredded cheese, and sat down and ate together. Earlier they made fruit salad, and chopped up a lot of different kinds of fruit together. Their teacher let them put vanilla sauce on top… yum! Since he has been doing this, he has become very comfortable with chopping and wielding a large chopping knife. 🙂 This is one of the things that I love about school here. They really do a wide variety of things that pertain to life and not just math and reading.

2 thoughts on “Lunch time!

Leave a Reply

